PEPTIDES BIO / PROCUREMENT & QUOTES
Peptide Purity Testing Cost: Normalize a Public Quote
A quote-normalization ledger for peptide purity testing cost searches, using peptide-focused core-facility rates to separate analytical HPLC, LCMS, mass determination, preparation, customer category, units, and missing fields.
Research or raw-material evaluation only. Not for human or veterinary use.
Peptide purity testing cost cannot be reduced to one number unless the public source identifies the exact service, customer category, billing unit, preparation boundary, and reporting scope. A peptide-focused core facility can publish an analytical HPLC rate while listing LCMS, mass determination, purification, and synthesis as separate services. Those figures must remain separate records rather than a blended “purity test” price.
Read the fee as a structured quote
The useful unit is the unit the institution bills: per injection, per sample, per run, per hour, or per synthesis. Keep the customer class beside it. “Internal,” “academic,” “external,” and “market” are not interchangeable categories, and a rate marked “inquire” is not a zero or an estimate. Record what is included, what is separately charged, and what the source leaves unstated.
Primary record: Northwestern Peptide Synthesis Core
The Northwestern University Center for Regenerative Nanomedicine Peptide Synthesis Core page states that it provides standard and custom peptide synthesis, purification, and characterization. It says its published rates are for Northwestern University researchers and Chicago Biomedical Consortium (CBC) Open Access members; external-user rates and custom quotes require contacting the core. Retrieved August 27, 2026, the page displayed the following fee records.
| Service as displayed | Billing unit | Full-service | Self-service | External users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Analytical HPLC | Per injection | $55 | $45 | Inquire |
| Molecular Weight Determination | Per sample | $14 | $14 | Inquire |
| LCMS | Per injection | $65 | Not listed | Inquire |
| Training, Consultation, Data Analysis | Per hour | $117 | Not listed | Inquire |
The same page says peptide products are provided with liquid-chromatography purity results and mass-spectrometry confirmation, and that electronic records include synthesis method, HPLC gradient and data, mass-spectrometry spectra, and LCMS purity test data. That statement supplies context for why Analytical HPLC and LCMS appear as distinct characterization lines. It does not make the two charges one test, and it does not state that every peptide project receives identical work or a specified result.
These figures are the page’s displayed charges at the retrieval date, not a future quotation, a market average, or a universal peptide-purity tariff. The page’s external-user entries say “Inquire”; no external numerical rate should be inferred.
Secondary comparison: University of Kansas rate units
The University of Kansas Synthetic Chemical Biology Core rates page separates Internal, Academic External, and Market External columns. It lists HPLC-wet lab per run, LC/MS analysis per run, HPLC purification per run, molecular/accurate mass determination per sample, and sample preparation/desalting per sample as different fee categories. Retrieved August 27, 2026, it displayed, for example, HPLC-wet lab at $30, $46, and $90 across those customer columns; LC/MS analysis at $53, $81, and $159 per run; and HPLC purification at $36, $55, and $108 per run.
KU’s page does not label each line “peptide purity testing.” It is therefore used only to demonstrate how customer category and billing unit prevent direct price combination. Its figures do not become a peptide-purity price, a comparison ranking, or an estimate for another institution. University of Kansas Synthetic Chemical Biology Core rates.
Why the units cannot be merged
Analytical HPLC per injection is a different record from HPLC purification per run, LCMS per injection or per run, molecular-weight determination per sample, and data analysis per hour. A synthesis or purification charge may concern material production rather than an analytical purity result. Adding those amounts would manufacture a package that neither source publishes.
Preparation is another boundary. Northwestern notes that additional charges are required per amino acid based on the desired scale and separately says that TFA salt removal is offered by Core staff for an additional fee. Its page does not publish a universal preparation charge for an analytical purity test, while KU lists sample preparation/desalting as its own per-sample category. Record an omitted preparation, queue, rush, tax, shipping, or minimum field as “not stated,” not as zero.
Normalize without inventing a quote
For each source, preserve: institution; URL; retrieval date; service wording; customer category; currency notation; billing unit; included work; additional charges; and missing fields. A normalized row can say “Northwestern, Analytical HPLC, per injection, full-service $55, self-service $45, external inquire, retrieved 2026-08-27.” It should not convert that row into a per-sample price or imply that an LCMS line is included.
The audit result may simply be “not comparable.” That is the correct conclusion when methods, units, preparation, customer classes, or reporting scopes differ. No average, range, best-value claim, laboratory ranking, or purchase recommendation follows from these records.
Keep cost records apart from purity evidence
The public COA, MSDS and batch-record guide addresses whether supplied documents match a material and lot. A fee schedule addresses a different question: what the named institution displayed for a specified service and customer category. Neither a price, service name, HPLC line, LCMS line, or purity-result description proves the identity, quality, safety, suitability, or future performance of a research material.
Direct sources and scope
- Northwestern University Peptide Synthesis Core: Services, Rates and Ordering, retrieved August 27, 2026. Scope: peptide-focused synthesis/purification/characterization services; published Northwestern/CBC full-service and self-service rates; external users inquire; units and inclusions as displayed. It does not establish a universal peptide-purity price, a future quote, or equivalence among analytical HPLC, LCMS, molecular-weight determination, purification, and synthesis.
- University of Kansas Synthetic Chemical Biology Core: Rates, retrieved August 27, 2026. Scope: customer-category and billing-unit examples for HPLC-wet lab, LC/MS, purification, mass determination, and preparation. It does not label those lines as peptide purity testing or establish a general price.
Research scope: This summary concerns normalization of public analytical-service fee records for research procurement. It is not a supplier recommendation, purchase recommendation, laboratory ranking, quote guarantee, test-method instruction, legal advice, or claim about product quality, safety, identity, or suitability.
Catalogue boundary: The related research material catalogue record is not a core-facility fee schedule or a quote. A displayed item does not determine billing unit, customer category, preparation scope, future price, or analytical result.
References
Need a product record?
